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GCBA RESULTS 

Series 24 of the 9-High Swiss 
Pairs was won by Pauline 
Mussi and Hugh Wilkinson, 
with Sheila Constable and 
Neville Shorrick occupying the 
runners-up position. This 
competition is now on hold for 
a few months and may restart if 
there is sufficient interest. 

County Leagues 
The first half of the County 
League programme has now 
completed, and after minor 
adjustments to the division 
participants, the second half 
has now started. In round six, 
wins were recorded by teams 
led by Constable, Sanis, 
Shields, Simons and Waggett. 
 

MIDLAND 
COUNTIES LEAGUE 

The January round saw 
Gloucestershire matched 
against Oxfordshire with the 
following results: The Dawes 
team lost 15-5, the Porter lost 
19-1 and the Markham won 
16-4. These results leave our 
teams in second, fourth and 
second places in their 
respective divisions with two 
more matches remaining. 

COTSWOLD CUP 

On February 4th, Cheltenham 
Bridge Club is hosting the 
Cotswold Cup for the first time 
since the pandemic. You enter 
and play as a pair, using deals 
(generally from some past 
international event), and your 
scores are compared to the 
experts who first played the 
hands. It is great fun and 
competitors are provided with 
an analysis of the deals at the 
end. Entry costs £5 per player 
to include a hot drink. To enter 
visit the GCBA website.  

CONGRESS 
SUCCESS 

Congratulations to Alastair 
Catchpole whose team 
finished fourth in the Swiss 
teams at the EBU Year-end 
congress. Alastair Catchpole 
and Jack Armorgie were also in 
the team that finished fifth in 
the Swiss teams at the recent 
Midlands Counties Congress. 

A CURIOSITY 

This hand occurred in a recent 
game involving local players. 

The bidding is explained as 

follows: A natural 1 opener 
was followed by a Michaels 
overcall showing both majors. 
East made a natural raise and 

South bid 4 to ask partner to 
pick the major they preferred. 
West decided to sacrifice (a 
good view given that game is 
making for N/S). Hence the first 
five bids were all made in the 
same suit!  

At the table, the story did not 
have a completely happy 
ending for N/S when North 

proceeded with 5, a contract 
which had to fail by one trick. If 
you have any unusual bidding 
sequences that you would like 
to share, please let the editor 
know. 

YOUR LEAD? 

You pick up: 

KT963 TA9 Q9862 

and need to find a lead after the 

auction goes, from partner, 1-

5 and you double to finish the 
auction. Most players would 
look no further than leading 
their singleton heart. They 
would argue that it is likely that 
partner has the Ace and will 
give them a ruff, or that partner 
has a slow heart trick and an 
outside entry that means you 
can get to his hand after 
winning the first round of 
trumps. But I do not believe 
that leading a heart is correct.  

If partner has the A, then you 
will still have time to get that 
ruff (if indeed you have one), 
and it may be necessary to set 
up tricks in a black suit. 
Moreover, if partner has an 
outside winner, then you may 
not need a ruff.  Rather than 
making a stab in the dark, you 
can learn more by cashing the 

A at trick one. You see 
dummy and can make an 
intelligent continuation. On this 
deal, dummy will put down:  

J852 AQ7432T4 3 

and now you will either play a 
second trump to prevent any 
club ruffs on the table, or you 
will switch to a spade to take 
your top winners there.  

Either will result in the contract 
being beaten. On a heart lead, 
declarer wins the Ace, throwing 
a spade loser and then takes a 
club ruff for eleven tricks. This 
hand was played in the last 
county match and eleven tricks 
were made on the nine times 
that the hand was played in five 
diamonds – everyone leading 
the ’automatic’ singleton in 
partner’s suit. For the record, 
declarer’s hand was: 

74 - KQJ87653 AK4 

 
 

 

 AKJ76 

 A9732 

 K2 

 4 

 

 

 T8 

 8 

 AQJ85 

 A9652 

 
 

 95 

 KJ5 

 9743 

 QJT8 
  Q432 

 QT64 

 T6 

 K73 

 

South West North East 

 1   2  3 

4 5   
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IMPROVER’S 
CORNER 

We are taught that when 
returning partner’s suit, we 
should lead back our original 
fourth highest card when we 
started with four or more cards, 
and our highest card when we 
started with three. This is a 
sound method that makes it 
easy for partner to get a count 
of the suit. So when partner 

leads say the 3 and you hold 

A84 you win the Ace and 
return the eight, but with 

A842 you return the two. 
However, there are occasions 
when you would not do this.  

Suppose you are defending 
no-trumps and partner leads 

the 3 and you hold Q972, 

dummy holding a singleton J. 
You play the Queen on the first 
round, losing to declarer’s 
King. Later you get the lead in 
another suit and return what. 
You know declarer started with 
four hearts and if you return the 

2 (original fourth highest), 
then declarer merely covers 
your card to prevent the run of 
the suit.  

So instead, you should lead 

back your 9, so that you can 
win three tricks when partner 
started with, for example 

A843 and declarer with 

KT65. There is another 
situation when the return of a 
high card is best.  When the 
suit is distributed like this: 

  J8  
 A742   Q953 

  KT6  

Trick one goes 2-J-Q-K. When 
East gets the lead he must 

return the 9 to pin dummy’s 

8 and deprive declarer of a 
second trick in the suit. 
Similarly if trick one goes 2-8-
9-T then East should later 
return the Queen to pin 
dummy’s knave.   

Returning to the special 
situation when dummy 
originally held a singleton, we 
can see from the above that it 
is correct to return the highest 
card from 3 remaining, so the 
corollary of this is that when the 
lowest card is returned, it must 
be from an original five card 
holding and it is imperative the 
opening leader is aware of the 
risk of blocking the suit. 
Consider this layout:  

  J  
 AT82   Q9753 
  K64 

 

 

Under traditional methods, trick 
one goes 2-J-Q-K. East comes 

in and  returns the 5 (original 
fourth best); South plays the 

6 and West carelessly wins 

the 8, blocking the suit and 
restricting the defence to three 
tricks in the suit. However, if 
one follows the rule of returning 
your lowest card from an 
original 5-card suit, then West 
knows his partner started with 
five and wins the second round 
with the ten, continuing with 
Ace and another to take four 
tricks in the suit. Here is 
another simple example. 

  2  
 KQ86   AJ943 
  T75 

 

 

Trick one goes 6-2-A-5. Now 
when East returns the 3, West 
knows this is from 5 and 
unblocks by winning with the 
Queen, rather than the eight. 

So the tip is: 

Against no-trump contracts, 
when partner has led his 
fourth best in a suit where 
dummy has a singleton, you 
should return your smallest 
pip if you have five cards in 
the suit.  But be sure to 
discuss this with your partner 
so you are both on the same 
wavelength.                                                      

SOLUTION TO 
DECEMBER 
PROBLEM 

 
 K42 

 AK3 

 QJ82 

 AK6 

 
3NT by 
 West 
 

 QT53 

 74 

 AT764 

 94 

North leads the 5 to South’s 
ten, and you need aplan for 
making nine tricks? You have 
five top tricks and can easily 
develop at least three more 
diamond tricks and a spade to 
bring your total to nine. 
However, if you allow the 
defence to set up their long 
suit, you are in danger of losing 
five tricks if the diamond 
finesse loses.  

One thought might be to duck 
the heart lead, win the heart 
continuation and then knock 
out the Ace of spades before 
finessing the diamond. If the 
opening lead is from a five-card 
suit you will be OK as South will 
have no more hearts to play. 
However, ducking trick one is 
far from safe as South can 
switch to a club at trick two and 
now the defence can set up two 
club tricks to go with one trick 
in each of the other suits to 
defeat you.  

The winning line is to take the 
first trick and play the King of 
spades at trick two. If the 
defence wins and continues 
hearts, now is the time to duck. 
Then you can win any 
continuation and finesse 
diamonds into the safe hand. 

JANUARY 
PROBLEM 

 AKQJ 

 97 

 4 

 QJ9532 

 

 6 by 
 West 
 

 9632 

 A86 

 AK76 

 A6 

You play in 6 after North has 

opened the bidding with 3. 

North leads the 4. Plan the 
play. 


